2010 ALA Annual Conference


Honors and Elections

Hall of Fame Induction: Michael H. Ber, CLC  

Michael H. Ber, CLCMichael H. Ber, CLC, president of Lighting Inc. in New Orleans, was inducted into the Lighting Hall of Fame during the Annual Banquet Wednesday evening, Sept. 22.

A second-generation ALA member, Ber has been active in the association since the early 1970s, when it was known as the American Home Lighting Institute.

He has served in multiple leadership positions, including chair of the Board of Directors, Showroom Division, in 1987 and chair of the ALA Board of Governors in 2005.

After attending his first ALA Annual Conference in 1975, Ber has helped plan many of the Conferences since, chairing the Annual Conference Committees in 1982 and 2003 and the Long-Range Conference Planning Committee from 1995-2002.

He currently serves on the Long Range Annual Conference Planning Committee and the Finance Committee. Ber’s other ALA leadership roles include:
1979-1990  Board of Directors, Showroom Division 
1983-1987  Executive Committee 
1985  Co-Editor, Sales Training Course 
1987  Recognized as “Lighting Person of the Year” 
1996-1998  Chair, Showroom Steering Committee 
2000-2008  Board of Governors 
1996-1998  Member, BiNational Task Force 
2003-2006  Chair, Awards and Recognition Committee 
2004  Co-Chair, BiNational Advertising/PR 
Recruitment Committee 

Pillar of the Industry Awards

The ALA’s Pillar of the Industry awards recognize up to three ALA members (manufacturer, manufacturers’ representative and/or showroom) for their unique and meaningful service to advance the lighting industry and the ALA’s programs and mission during the past year and a half.

This year's recipients were honored during the Annual Banquet on Wednesday evening, Sept. 22. 

Alan Colker

Alan ColkerAlan Colker, president of Alco Lighting Sales Inc. in Richmond, Va., is a long-time supporter of the ALA eduational program, sponsoring more than 25 regional seminars for his showroom customers over the past 14 years, including three in the last 18 months.

In addition to his educational contributions, Colker is an active membership recruiter, serving on several membership campaigns, and a supporter of the ALA BiNational Advertising and PR Program.

Jack D. Fleischer, CLC

Jack Fleischer, CLCJack Fleischer, CLC, president of Hermitage Lighting Gallery in Nashville, Tenn., is heavily involved in ALA government affairs issues and currently serves as chair of the ALA Political Action Committee (ALA-PAC).

A contributor to the ALA-PAC since 2006, Fleischer was part of the ALA’s annual Washington, D.C., lobbying trips in 2006 and 2009 and has been a member of the Government Affairs Committee since 2006. He has also served on the Electronic Technology Committee since 2001 and the Annual Conference Long Range Planning Committee since 2008, and he is a member of the 2010 Annual Conference Committee.

He was runner-up in this year’s Membership Campaign, gaining nine new member commitments.

Rick W. Seidman

Rick SeidmanRick Seidman, president and CEO of Quoizel Inc. in Goose Creek, S.C., serves as chair of the ALA Manufacturers’ Sales Survey Task Force and was a key factor in the survey’s development and successful launch in 2009, helping to secure participation from more than 50 member manufacturers and continuing to develop effective responses to survey issues as they arise.

Seidman has also served as chair of the Annual Conference Long Range Planning Committee since 2008, was a member of the Governors Nominating Committee in 2008 and 2009 and has been a member of the Manufacturers Council since 2007.

He has been nominated to serve on the Board of Governors in 2011.

Lighting for Tomorrow Awards

Lighting for TomorrowWinners of the 2010 Lighting for Tomorrow Awards were announced during the general session on Wednesday morning, Sept. 22. This annual competition recognizes the best new energy-efficient lighting products, focusing this year on lighting control devices and solid state lighting (SSL) fixture and replacement lamps.

See the winners at www.lightingfortomorrow.org.


Election of Board and Officers

A vote was taken during the business luncheon on Tuesday, Sept. 21, to approve the 2011 Board of Governors nominees and officers.

Elected to fill open slots on the 2011 Board are:

Ray S. Angelo (First term)
President, Westinghouse Lighting Corp.

Elise P. Gilchrist, CLC, CLMR (First term)
Partner, Lytestyles

Kevin M. Herdt, CLC (Second term)
President, Austin Bluffs Lighting

Fred Naimer (First term)
President, Union Lighting Co. Ltd.

Rick W. Seidman (First term)
President/CEO, Quoizel